Cloisters of Saint John Lateran, Rome. Source:

Friday, 3 April 2015

Good Friday. Stabat Mater.

Stabat Mater (The Mother Stood) is The Sequence for The Mass of 15 September, The Mass of The Seven Sorrows of The Blessed Virgin Mary. It Recounts The Blessed Virgin Mary's Heartbreak on Good Friday, When Standing at The Foot of The Cross, Whilst her Son, Jesus Christ, Hung on That Infamous Gibbet.

This (complete) performance of Pergolesi's "Stabat Mater"
is from a Concert at Saint Denis, Paris, France,
on 23 June 2009, by Les Talens Lyriques . Conducted by Christophe Rousset.
The soloists were Sabina Puertolas (Soprano)
and Vivica Genaux (mezzo-soprano).
Available on YouTube at

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...