Text and Illustrations from Wikipedia - the free encyclopaedia,
unless otherwise stated.
The Church at Gougane Barra (above and below).
Built on an Island, near the Monastery/Well site,
at the end of the 19th-Century.
Gougane Barra on a foggy Winter morning.
Date: 2006-08-25 (original upload date).
Author: mozzercork @ flickr.
The name Gougane Barra comes from Saint Finbarr, who is said to have built a Monastery, on an Island in the Lake, during the 6th-Century. The present ruins date from around 1700, when a Priest, called Denis O'Mahony, Retreated to the Island.
During the times of The Penal Laws, Gougane Barra's remoteness meant that it became a popular place for the Celebration of The Roman Catholic Mass. The 19th-Century Oratory, which stands near the original Monastery, is famous for its picturesque location, and richly decorated Interior, and is a popular place for weddings.
Saint Finbarr's Oratory, Gougane Barra, West Cork, Ireland.
Part of a Monastery, Founded by Saint Finbarr in the 6th-Century A.D.,
on an Island (now joined to the surrounding Land
by a Causeway) in Lough Gougane Barra.
Photo: 15 April 2004.
Source: From geograph.org.uk.
Author: Raymond Norris.
Saint Finbarr's Cathedral, Cork, Ireland.
Photo: 13 March 2006.
Author: Flickr member Charlie cravero.
Afforestation of the area, around the Settlement, began in 1938, and Gougane Barra is now home to a 1.42 square kilometre (or 138 hectare) Forest Park, with twenty different species of tree, mainly Sitka Spruce, Japanese Larch, Scots Pine and Lodgepole Pine, and a large number of native species of flora and fauna. The source of the River Lee rises in the hills above the Park and flows into Gougane Lake. The Forest Park has 5 km of motor trail and 10 km of hill walks, nature points and vista trails.